BuyVM – 7 Year Review

I’ve been using BuyVM for seven years this month, so figured it was time to write a review :stuck_out_tongue:

Back in 2010, a post on WebHostingTalk caught my eye. $5.95 per month for a VPS with 512 MB RAM and IPv6 support? Amazing! I was in need of a VPS for my secondary DNS and mail servers, after having issues with another provider. BuyVM was relatively unknown to me and I was a bit scared to try out yet another ‘new’ provider after having so many issues with other providers suddenly disappearing, servers going down for days, etc. However, I kept an eye on them, and BuyVM kept appearing in the LowEndTalk top provider polls, so in March 2012 I signed up.

In terms of hosting providers, I think this is the best decision I ever made. BuyVM was cheaper than other providers I had used, and yet the servers were faster, support was better, and overall it just felt like a better quality service. I liked the service so much that I ended up upgrading to an OpenVZ VPS with 1 GB RAM ($13.95/month at the time, I think) and migrated across from a Hivelocity dedicated server.

https://twitter.com/Daniel15/status/313404452356882433

I was even happier when “slices” were announced - For basically the same price, I could get 4x the RAM (4 GB) and dedicated CPU on a KVM VPS, and the VPS felt extremely fast and responsive!

https://twitter.com/Daniel15/status/792960613118914561

@Francisco is absolutely fantastic to deal with. I’ve rarely had to contact support, but when I have, Francisco has always been knowledgeable and willing to help. There used to be a guy named Aldryic on their support team who wasn’t always as friendly, but I think he’s not at the company any more. I never really had any issues with him though.