Continuous Backup Solution?

I’ve been using SpiderOAK for the last 2 years after giving up on CrashPlan and I noticed that restores are getting way too slow for my liking to the point of sometimes being faster to just re-create the missing file.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest a backup client that does continuous backup like SpideOAK and CrashPlan but which I can use my own cloud storage.

It needs a GUI and be multiplatform (Mac/PC) because it will be used by family members without much technical background.

I looked at Duplicati and Arq but those only backup at set times (hourly, daily, etc).

Any suggestions?

Honestly, in your position I would settle with Duplicati. I know you’ve listed it as unviable, but surely hourly jobs would be sufficient? Obviously I don’t know your exact use-case, so perhaps you do need something more continuous :slight_smile:

It’s mostly the versioning that I’m after. My wife often has Office apps freezing and corrupting her files, so I’m looking for a solution that minimise how much of her work she looses.

The files are replicated using NextCloud and it does versioning, but you need to use the web interface to recover the versions. The desktop client doesn’t offer this feature.

Right, which Duplicati offers :stuck_out_tongue: Obviously you access it via the web interface, but this is run locally.

Office offers that, as well as Windows :slight_smile:

1 Like

:stuck_out_tongue:

OS X supports the same thing :slight_smile:.

1 Like

Office? Or in general? If in general, how? :open_mouth: