Recommendations for MacBook Replacement SSD?

I am looking for a SSD about ~500GB (480-512) to replace the internal HDD of an old MacBook, any good suggestions?

I would prefer something more reliable than speed (For example, the drive turn into read-only mode instead of not recognised at all when something happened badly)

Let me know if you have an idea which SSD brand will have promotion during BF/CM too.

Crucial MX500 or the Samsung 860 Evo. Both are great, the Crucial is cheaper but the Samsung should theoretically be more reliable. I’ve been rocking the precursor of the Crucial for 4 years and it’s been holding up great so I’d recommend the Crucial. Better bang for the buck.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestions. I don’t mind paying a bit more if Samsung 860 Evo is proven to be more reliable. Sadly, there’s no reliability report on SSD in scale unlike Backblaze’s HDD report.

1 Like

Reliability in terms of SSD is more like durability. SSD’s, being flash memory, have limited write cycles. A Crucial will last you 5 years if you wipe and refill it everyday. The Samsung should last 6 (I just made up those numbers, but there’s a small difference there).

The next thing is the controllers but those are rarely an issue anymore. If anything I’d prefer the controller Samsung uses but the difference in quality is too small to bother.

Basically any SSD you buy today is much more reliable than any spinning rust. It’s more like saying there’s a 0.01% chance the Crucial will fail on you and a 0.009% chance the Samsung will. I don’t think that’s worth an extra twenty to thirty bucks but that’s obviously just my opinion. Your SSD will outlive the rest of your hardware regardless of your choice.

2 Likes

Samsung is worth the extra money. They rarely ever fail, but when they do, they send you brand new replacements. Crucial - if it breaks, throw it away, because you’ll never get it RMAed - the warranty is worthless.

5 Likes