What does it change if I buy an IP from RIPE or Afrinic

Hey guys,
I am planning on buying a /24 ipv4 network.

However I have a few questions about it.

Firstly is there a difference if I buy some IP’s from Afrinic or from RIPE.
By this I mean does the routing get slower or does it have any impact at all on something? Except the fact that it’s Afrinic?

I saw a lot of renting services, is it needed to own one ASN to rent some IP’s?

Can I route an IP to another (like a CNAME record on a DNS)?

And can this routing be billed or it’s really managed on a BGP level, or do I need a server in between?

I am really no expert on this side so I take any tips or information.

Thanks for your answer and giving me more knowledge!

Absolutely not. Routing is not managed by regional registries; that is up to you to deal with once you’ve announced the range(s).

Keep in mind that AFRINIC can revoke your space if you use it exclusively outside of the region. <— Not sure about this one actually as I don’t have AFRINIC space

I saw a lot of renting services, is it needed to own one ASN to rent some IP’s?

You don’t “own” an ASN per se — you’ll need to either pay to become a LIR or have one sponsor your registration. There are plenty of people that’ll do it for ~$50.

Can I route an IP to another (like a CNAME record on a DNS)?

What do you mean here?

And can this routing be billed or it’s really managed on a BGP level, or do I need a server in between?

Yes… all of your routing will use the B.G.Protocol. (which can be a server running BIRD, or physical router)

I am really no expert on this side so I take any tips or information.

https://dn42.us

… before you make a mistake and announce some broken route and your upstream fails to filter it.

am planning on buying a /24 ipv4 network

I sure hope you mean “rent” — otherwise you’re in for a surprise on cost (given that you’re a student).

(I assume that you’re renting judging by the latter part of your post)

2 Likes